]], [[portugal


Coordinates: 13°30′S 34°00′E / 13.500°S 34.000°E / -13.500; 34.000

Malawi (/məˈlɔːwi/, /məˈlɑːwi/ or /ˈmæləwi/; Chichewa: [maláβi] or [maláwi]), officially the Republic of Malawi, is a landlocked country in southeast Africa that was formerly known as Nyasaland. It is bordered by Zambia to the northwest, Tanzania to the northeast, and Mozambique on the east, south and west. The country is separated from Tanzania and Mozambique by Lake Malawi. Malawi is over 118,000 km2 (45,560 sq mi) with an estimated population of 16,777,547 (July 2013 est.). Its capital is Lilongwe, which is also Malawi's largest city; the second largest is Blantyre and the third is Mzuzu. The name Malawi comes from the Maravi, an old name of the Nyanja people that inhabit the area. The country is also nicknamed "The Warm Heart of Africa".

Malawi is among the smallest countries in Africa. Lake Malawi takes about a third of Malawi's area.

Latest News for: Malawi news


Malawi: Ntchisi Registers Increased Agricultural Productivity

All Africa 23 Aug 2019
Ntchisi -Ntchisi district has registered an increase in agricultural productivity for most of the major crops grown in the district during the 2018/2019 growing season, Malawi News Agency (Mana) has established .......

How to make world a better place: politics and religion – Susan Dalgety

Scotsman 17 Aug 2019
We can all do something, through our churches, community groups, yes even politics,’ a former Labour MSP and Malawi veteran tells Susan Dalgety ... But some drivers in Malawi do not practice the same due care and attention ... Susan Dalgety's Letter from Malawi series ... Karen is a Malawi veteran ... “Malawi has empowered lay people to preach....

Facebook is going after fake news in local African languages

Quartz 14 Aug 2019
Facebook is going local as it doubles down on tackling its global fake news problem ... The dominance of fake news during election cycles has become a problem even in countries like Malawi with low internet penetration ... Sign up to the Quartz Africa Weekly Brief here for news and analysis on African business, tech and innovation in your inbox....

Malawi hails China, UNDP for nation's disaster risk management and development

Xinhua 10 Aug 2019
"Government of the People's Republic of China and the UNDP are friends in need to the Malawi Government in as far as the implementation of Disaster Risk Management and developmental programmes are concerned," Chimulirenji was quoted as saying by the Malawi News Agency (MANA)....

A ‘struggle for Malawi’s very soul’ may now be under way – Susan Dalgety

Scotsman 09 Aug 2019
Protests over alleged election-rigging in Malawi are turning into a wider campaign for equality in a country where 15 million people survive on less than £150 a year, writes Susan Dalgety. The plumes of black smoke swirled like tornadoes across Lake Malawi's distant horizon ... Susan Dalgety's weekly Letter from Malawi....

Banyana thrash Comoros 17-0 in Cosafa Cup Group A opener in PE

Independent online (SA) 31 Jul 2019
Tiisetso Mahubela bagged her first goal for Banyana Banyana in the opening minutes before Ode Fulutudilu doubled the lead later ... The South Africans can expect tougher opposition when they take on Malawi in their next group match at the same venue on Friday. African News Agency (ANA) ....


Peace FM Online 30 Jul 2019
The report, copied to the Ghana News Agency, said governments in emerging economies in Africa and Asia, such as Ghana, Malawi and Nigeria, were following Estonia’s lead and rapidly developing digital identity programmes ... However, it expected less than 10 per cent of dedicated identity apps to be blockchain-based by 2023 ... ....

Lakewood High School House Principal and Fairview Park resident returns to Malawi, overwhelmed by nonprofit’s impact

Cleveland 29 Jul 2019
Not only is he currently a Lakewood High School House Principal, but the Malawi native, who came stateside in 1992 at the age of 13, is behind international nonprofit Nanze ... In fact, I pay for my own travel expenses whenever visiting Malawi.” ... Read more news from the Sun Post Herald here....

Faith briefs

Herald and News 26 Jul 2019
Spring St., according to a news release ... Sunday service in Christian Science Church at 806 Oak Ave., according to a news release ... Sixth St., according to a news release ... 10th St., according to a news release ... on Sunday, according to a news release ... to noon at 4022 Delaware Ave., according to a news release ... Sixth St., according to a news release....

Cape Town ready to take the 2023 Netball World Cup baton from 2019 hosts Liverpool

Independent online (SA) 20 Jul 2019
LIVERPOOL – The Netball World Cup, which ends in Liverpool, England, this weekend, is heading for Cape Town in 2023 ... African countries, including South Africa, Uganda, Zimbabwe and Malawi, have shown with their sterling performances at the Liverpool tournament that there’s an appetite for the sport on the continent. African News Agency (ANA) ....

Silver Ferns open Netball World Cup in style with dominant win over Malawi

TVNZ 18 Jul 2019
Relive 1 NEWS Now's live coverage of this Netball World Cup encounter between the Silver Ferns and Malawi, from Malawi ... NZ 64 Malawi 45 ... NZ 63 Malawi 43 ... NZ 58 Malawi 39 ... Meanwhile Langman is having a blinder against the Malawi midcourt ... NZ 54 Malawi 34 ... NZ 49 Malawi 30 ... NZ 49 Malawi 30 ... NZ 43 Malawi 25 ... NZ 36 Malawi 23 ... 1 min Q3 - NZ 32 Malawi 18....

Silver Ferns, Diamonds 'evenly matched', say Diamonds ahead of World Cup showdown

TVNZ 17 Jul 2019
The Diamonds cast aside Malawi 74-25 this morning to make it five easy wins from five in Liverpool, England, although Alexander was unimpressed that they finished with their most lacklustre quarter of the tournament so far ... demons with the win over Malawi ... 1 NEWS ... 1 NEWS ... 1 NEWS....

LIVE: Silver Ferns out for revenge over Malawi in Netball World Cup opener

TVNZ 12 Jul 2019
Welcome to 1 NEWS Now's live coverage of this Netball World Cup encounter between the Silver Ferns and Malawi, from Malawi ... 2 mins - NZ 2 Malawi 1 ... At the other end, Kopua is called for obstruction and Simtowe scores Malawi's first ... 1 min - NZ 0 Malawi 0. Malawi get things underway!....

Most Viewed